The New Voice Awards include prizes for the best Debut Writer and Director, and Best BroadcasterCompany and Agency for New Talent. The awards build on last year’s successful Debbie Awards with a new name, re-brand and an expanded number of categories recognising the best undiscovered creatives and the companies who do the most to support them.

The New Voice Awards echo the mission of the Festival’s two talent schemes, Ones to Watch and The Network, which aim to make the industry more accessible to a broader range of individuals and to provide a prestigious platform for rising stars.

All ticket holders for the awards will also be able to attend a special new writer’s panel. The panellists will include screenwriters Daniel Lawrence Taylor (Timewasters), Sophie Petzal (Blood) and Shivani Thussu (winner of the 2018 All3Media New Script Award).


Daniel Lawrence Taylor is the creator and writer of ITV2’s Timewasters, a time-travelling comedy which has it’s second series airing later this year. In 2018 he was nominated for the Edinburgh TV Festival Breakthrough award, won the RTS Breakthrough Award, was a BAFTA Breakthrough Brit, and was nominated for Best Scripted Comedy at the BAFTAs. His work as an actor includes CockroachesUncle, and Hunderby. He also performs as one half of the comedy double act Ginger & Black.


Sophie Petzal’s original TV series, Blood, was produced by Company Pictures and went out on Virgin Media One in Ireland, Channel 5 in the UK and Acorn in the US in 2018. She has also written on The Last KingdomRiviera and Medici among many others. Sophie was one of Edinburgh TV Festival’s Ones to Watch in 2014.


Shivani Thussu won the All3Media New Script Award in 2018 and has since signed with Curtis Brown and is in development with All3Media on her winning script, Paper.