Recently named the funniest man in Britain by The Times, stand-up comedian, Mo Gilligan will host the prestigious Edinburgh TV Awards

Gilligan is one of UK’s fastest rising stand-up stars with an online reach running into the multiple millions. He has co-hosted two series of Expectation and Dice’s The Big Narstie Show for Channel 4, which recently won an RTS award for Entertainment Performance and has also been nominated in the Best Comedy Entertainment Programme category at BAFTA. This summer will see him front his hugely anticipated new six-part prime-time entertainment series made by Expectation and Momo G Ltd for Channel 4 built around his stand up, strands and sketches, in front of a studio audience.

In their 18th year, the highly-coveted awards form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, recognising outstanding talent, and celebrating the incredible breadth of genres and creativity that broadcasters and production companies produce year after year.

At the TV Awards ceremony on Thursday 22nd August, Gilligan will announce to delegates the winners of categories including Channel of the Year, Production Company of the Year, and this year, for the first time the recognition of the importance of online content as well as smaller production companies including: Small Indie of the Year, UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year and Online Channel of the Year.

“ I’m proud to host the Edinburgh TV Awards this year and excited to help celebrate the industry’s exceptional talent.”

Mo Gilligan

The deadline for first round entries for all categories is midday on Friday 10th May 2019.

Advisory Chair, and Deputy Director of Programmes, Channel 4, Kelly Webb-Lamb said: “Mo’s the funniest man around – a breakthrough talent with quick-fire wit, buckets of charisma and skinny jeans to boot. There’s no-one better to host this year’s awards. Prepare for a gentle roasting and not-so-gentle rib ache.”

Channel 5 with the 2018 Channel of the Year award

Last year, Channel 5 picked up the highly sought-after Channel of the Year gong, while the Production Company of the Year went to Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds producer, CPL Productions.

This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open from June, with voting taking place via the Festival app, and remain open until Thursday, 22nd August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony.

For more information on each of the categories CLICK HERE