Hosted by stand-up comedian Mo Gilligan, the TV Awards, now in their 18th year, form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, bringing out the hugely talented creatives from both on and off screen The shortlist was voted for by over 150 industry professionals.

“I’m proud to host the Edinburgh TV Awards this year and excited to help celebrate the industry’s exceptional talent.”

Mo Gilligan

This year, categories have been expanded further to recognise the importance of online content as well as smaller production companies. The shortlist features nominations in categories including: Channel of the Year, Best Specialist Channel, UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year, Online Channel of the Year, Production Company of the Year, Small Indie of the Year, Best International Drama, Best UK Drama, Best Documentary Programme, Best Popular Factual Series, Best Entertainment Series, Best Comedy Series and Best Breakthrough Talent.


click here to see the 2019 SHORTLIST 

On the night, award-winning actor, director, singer, musician, screenwriter and author, Hugh Laurie CBE will receive the Edinburgh TV Festival’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

CEO and Festival Director, Lisa Campbell, said: “Our new categories reflect the rise of start-up and smaller indies and the increasing importance of online content. Meanwhile, the competition is tougher than ever in the programme categories with some of the biggest, beautifully-crafted, talked-about shows of the year battling it out. Good luck to all our nominees!”

The TV Moment of the Year category, voted for exclusively via the Festival app saw Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on ITV’s Good Evening Britain, claim victory in last year’s awards. This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open in July and remain open until Thursday 22nd August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony.

Last year, Channel 5 picked up the coveted Channel of the Year gong, while the Production Company of the Year went to CPL Productions.