All individual award winners will receive free passes for the Edinburgh TV Festival 2020, 3 nights’ accommodation in Edinburgh and the support of the Edinburgh TV Festival Talent Schemes team and selected partners for a full year.

The Victor Adebodun Debut Director Award

This award is for directors who have received their first professional TV credit in 2019.

Rebecca Coxon Britain’s Child Drug Runners

Niamh Kennedy Abused by My Girlfriend
Natasha Jarvis Our Yorkshire Farm
Alex Harron The Racer
Eoin Cleland Ups & Downs
Khurram M.Sultan My Life: Saving our Beautiful Bali

Named in honour of the late Victor Adebodun. Victor was an alumnus of the Festival’s Ones to Watch Scheme and presented the 2018 Debut Director Award. Victor was a talented director, creative leader and managing director of Purple Geko, an award-winning production company.


Debut Writer Award

Supported by Big Light

For writers who have received their first professional TV credit in 2019.

Shivani Vijayapalan In The Long Run

Javid Rezai Hollyoaks
Kat Butterfield & Daniel Audritt Modern Horror Stories
Philip Lawrence EastEnders

The winning writer will be receive a £750 deal to develop a TV drama pitch with Big Light Productions.

Debut Presenter Award

For presenters who have received their first professional TV or paid major online credit in 2019.

Tiffany Sweeney Secrets of Sugar Baby Dating

William Njobvu 
The Jeremy Vine Show
Krept & Konan and DJ Target The Rap Game UK
Ria Hebden Sunday Morning Live
Basma Khalifa Inside the Real Saudi Arabia: Why I Had to Leave

Future Presenter Award

Awarded to an aspiring presenter with strong potential. Entrants should already have some presenting experience e.g a YouTube channel, student or community TV hosting

Cameron Mackay
Brad Jones
Shaiyann Fairweather
Emma Jacobs
Sophie Buxton


Test Card Pilot Award

Supported by The Farm

Awarded to an individual or team for an un-commissioned, non-TX pilot completed in 2019.

Andrew Prince Boateng Those Good Fellas

Alegria Adedeji Just F*cking Do It
Lorelei Mathias Batshit – a Sketch Show About a Crazy World -by Melon Comedy
Guy Hamilton Community Cuts


All3Media New Drama Script Award

Supported by All3Media

Awarded for a drama TV script by unproduced, unrepresented writers.

Nichola Wong 
The Clinch 

Natalie Froome Occupational Hazard
Katherine Blessan More Than Conquerors
Ann Hawker Believe Me
Naomi Soneye-Thomas Limbo
Alastair Collinson Hellwath

All3Media New Comedy Script Award

Supported by All3Media

Awarded for a comedy TV script by unproduced, unrepresented writers.

Lady Aria Grey 
C’mon, Vague!

Brian McIver Careless
Nifty Noel Age Mates
Briony Puddepha Who Cares?
Steve Lawrence Work Spouse
Kirsty Smith & Lucy Dwyer Lost Girls
Isher Sahota The Rise and Fall of Ronak Malhotra

Debut Creator

Supported by Big Light

Amanda Duke The Cure

Lolly Adefope Sorry
Daisy Haggard Back to Life
Gbemisola Ikumelo Brain in Gear

Stage to Screen

Supported by Netflix

Awarded to a stage production with rich potential for TV adaptation.

Sadie Clark Algorithms

Christina Murdock 
Dangerous Giant Animals
Francesca Forristal Oddball
Callum Cameron Celebrate
Tristan Fynn-Aiduenu Sweet like Chocolate

Mentor of the Year

The Mentor of the Year award celebrates three mentors from the most recent completed cohort of Ones to Watch who have gone above and beyond in their commitment to helping new entrants navigate the first year of their career with connections, guidance and support.


Charlie Brades-Price

Jita Mitra

Yasemin Rashit


All of our New Script Award nominees and many of the nominees in our other categories are currently unrepresented. If you would like to get in touch with them about their work email we will put you in contact with them.

Email Us

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings we'll assume you're happy for us to use them.