Steven Moffat OBE


In 2009 Steven succeeded Russell T Davies as Showrunner for Doctor Who. Under Davies’ tenure, Steven won a BAFTA for his episode Blink and has since won many awards, including four Hugo Awards (among which 2011 Best Dramatic Presentation Award for The Pandorica Opens / The Big Bang).

Steven began his writing career in the late 1980s with BAFTA Award winning series Press Gang, which he created and wrote.  Steven then wrote sitcoms Chalk and award winning Joking Apart and Coupling. In 2007 he wrote Jekyll, an update of the classic novella, and in 2010 he co-created the multi-award winning Sherlock with his friend and fellow writer, Mark Gatiss, for Hartswood Films. The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special, premiered to a record global audience across 94 countries, screening simultaneously on television and in 3D in cinemas; the Doctor Who Christmas Special, introducing Peter Capaldi as the new time lord had similar global success. The third series of Sherlock launched on the BBC with its highest ever ratings, and with consolidated figures was the highest rating non-Doctor Who drama in the UK since 2002.

In 2012 Steven was presented with the RTS Judges Award for his “outstanding contribution to Television” and he was honoured by the British Academy of Film & Television with a Special Award for Contribution to Television and a BAFTA for Sherlock, A Scandal in Belgravia. In 2014 he won the Primetime Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special for Sherlock, His Last Vow. Steven has an honorary doctorate of letters from Glasgow University, and has also been awarded an OBE for services to television in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list, 2015.