Stand-up comedian, actor, writer and radio presenter Nish Kumar will host the prestigious Edinburgh TV Awards it was announced today (WED).

In their 16th year, the highly-coveted awards form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, celebrating the best of British content, as well as rewarding programmes outside of the UK.

On Thursday 24th August, Kumar will announce to delegates the winners of categories including Channel of the Year and Production Company of the Year which last year went to Channel 4 and Kudos respectively.

The TV Moment of the Year category, back for a fourth year and voted for exclusively via the Festival app is open now, and will remain open until the day of the Awards ceremony. The TV moments battling for the prize are:

The boys perform their original rap  “Little bit, leave it” on Love Island

The big reveal in Big Little Lies

Mr Wednesday reveals his true identity to Shadow in American Gods

AJ’s priceless reaction to new football boots in Rich House, Poor House

Jim Winshaw’s emotional speech in Three Girls

Alex Brooker’s moving tribute To Alex Zanardi on The Last Leg

New talent will be celebrated through ‘Test Card’ – a new award from the Edinburgh TV Festival’s talent schemes for TV pilots made by amateurs and junior talent – and a rising star on the Ones to Watch scheme will receive funding for a C4 Random Acts film for winning the best live pitch.

Other awards include Factual Programme of the Year, New Programme of the Year, which will be open to international productions airing on British television or available to download or stream, and Best International Co-Production, which will recognise a co-production project which has had a creative and cultural impact in its respective territories.

Nish Kumar said: “I’m delighted to be hosting the TV Festival Awards. As a multiple awards loser, I look forward to advising those who don’t win on the best tactics for revenge against the winners.”

Lisa Campbell, Festival Director said: “Nish is a hugely exciting, intelligent and thought-provoking comic who brings with him bags of sardonic wit, something much needed in front of a crowd of TV execs!”

Last month The TV Festival announced that Television Screenwriter and Producer Russell T Davies will receive the TV Festival’s Outstanding Achievement Award at this year’s TV Awards.

This year’s Festival places a premium on new information, giving delegates a privileged insight in to some of TV’s most inspiring names, shows and stories. In addition to leading TV execs and TV controllers from UK and US channels, top talent includes: Jon Snow, Sir David Attenborough, Russell Brand, Jimmy Carr, Nicola Sturgeon, Vicky McClure, Sue Perkins, Rory Bremner, Rio Ferdinand, Peter Purves, Valerie Singleton, Lauren Laverne, Edith Bowman, Nick Grimshaw, Russell Kane, Evan Davis, Charlie Brooker, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Mawaan Rizwan, Dan Schreiber, June Sarpong, Matt Forde, Jolyon Rubinstein, Iain Stirling, Rick Edwards, Judge Rinder, Anneka Rice, Gaby Roslin, Gloria Hunniford, Nick Helm, Robert Llewellyn, Craig Charles, Matt Morgan, Alex Horne, Jed Mercurio, Ranvir Singh, Sonali Shah, Alexandra Willis, Vuj (David Vujanic), Humza Arshad, Oona King, Ayesha Hazarika, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Asim Chaudhry, Vicky Jones, Kirsty Wark, Sarah-Jane Mee, Anna Richardson and Sam Naz.